Hello, Handstand. It’s been a while…

About 35 years to be exact.

Since I began CrossFit some 6 months ago, I have been quietly terrified about the prospect of This Moment.

My anxiety was very nearly fully realised on the day, a few months back, when Andy (the coach) rolled out a mat on the floor and told me to…

….”do a forward roll.”

“Very funny, LMFAO and all that. But seriously, what are we doing?”

“Forward rolls”.

“You do know I’m 45 years old, right? My neck may well snap like a twig. Are you insured for that kind of thing?”

“Just get on with it. It’s like falling off a log.” (Yes. That’s exactly what I am afraid of. Logs, twigs…).

So when I arrived at the gym yesterday, my eyes were unable to focus on today’s WOD. They were tuned intently in to the words FOCUS – Wall Climbs, Headstands, Handstands.

It was like a bloody hallelujah chorus going off in my head. You’ve got to be shitting me. I had just spent 3 days solid taking the piss out of my husband for straining his groin whilst attempting to perfect this very manoeuvre. I was now starting to think that the mid-life crisis had reached crisis point.

And here’s what I love most about CrossFit – 10 minutes later I was doing this. (Sorry about the pole sticking out of my arse – my son took the photo from a terrible angle).

paleo crossfit

It was like I was 8 years old again, tucking my t-shirt into my knickers so the boys couldn’t see next week’s washing.

Like falling off a log.

No idea who the bloody amateur in the dimly lit room is below. Bit porky. Hope she hasn’t left any scuff marks on that bloody wall.

paleo crossfit

Comments are my friends. Please add one!

