Body update – eating fat, to lose fat

paleo crossfit

Waiting for passing strangers to give me sugar cubes, Summer 2011

Today I weighed in at 11 stones & 10lbs. That’s now a total weightloss of 13lbs.

Waist 32″, Hips (at widest round bum) 41″, thigh 24″, Neck 13.5″. Can’t vouch for the accuracy of these as I could only find a metal builder’s tape measure, but let’s just say that my clothes are MUCH looser than they were 4 months ago.

On my last update I weighed 12 stones dead. Since then I’ve been on a two week holiday and had a couple of regrettable wine related incidents, so I am pretty happy with that. Still eating 100% ‘clean’.

Here’s a pictorial progress chart. No prizes for noticing that my hair seems to be shrinking at an even faster rate than my body is diminishing……

paleo crossfit

April body shape. Work to be done here.

Trog Dad is like a teenager again. He’s now lost well over 2 stones and is wearing shirts that have been sat in the closet for almost as long as the years I have known him. (Still going grey though, mwa ha ha). The two Trog kids are both also looking leaner. Trog Baby may only be 5 years old, but is built like a brick shit-house. Trog Teen is developing a beautiful lithe shape, with broadening shoulders and zero puppy fat. Lock up your daughters, ladies, the Trog boys are on their way…..

paleo crossfit

June 2012 body shape. Shrinkage evident.

paleo crossfit

July 2012 body shape.

I was watching a programme on TV last night about two guys who were chefs, trying to lose weight. I found it a very frustrating watch. Their favourite meal was English breakfast – bacon, sausages, eggs, the works. They decided to try to make a ‘low fat’ version of the dish. I watched them as they took a pair of scissors and cut the fat off their bacon, sprayed the frying pan in sunflower oil (!) and poached their eggs instead of frying them. I wanted to scream “Nooooooo!”

I found myself wondering whether I was holding a secret that belonged to a tiny club of the world’s lucky few, or whether I was completely deluded about the benefits of Paleo. Is it me?

paleo crossfit

August 2012 body shape. Looking better.

The most noticeable difference in the traditional dieting methods I was witnessing on TV and the Paleo lifestyle we’ve adopted was the fact that both guys were struggling with cravings. Preparing a steak sandwich for his son almost tipped one of them over the precipice, and they were constantly salivating at the idea of pies, bread and roast potatoes. Trog Dad and I, sat in front of the TV, exchanged a glance and both observed, “Wow, we don’t get any of that hunger stuff any more.”

Hell, something’s working here.

paleo crossfit

We three.

4 thoughts on “Body update – eating fat, to lose fat

  1. Helen – well done. We watched the Hairy Dieters last night and I realised a great part of their weight loss was due to abstaining from drink. Think I need to read up on the Robb Wolf book, as I have the Paleo Diet book by Loren Cordain. There appears to be much more of an emphasis on lean meat and no mention of pork scratchings.

    • LOL! I agree about the booze thing. Be interesting to see whether the guys can keep that weight off longterm – that’s the real difference I think. Low fat diets that still include grains are still bad diets. The Robb Wolf book is good. I don’t think you need to worry about your meat being lean, just ideally organic and fed on grass, not grain. Pork scratchings? Not strictly ‘kosher’ as shop-bought have gluten in, but if you make your own……!!!

Comments are my friends. Please add one!

